Something is leaking - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-19-2013, 11:51 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Something is leaking

Bit of a mystery here. A few weeks back, I pulled the CA evap canister off the bike. I capped the red hose barb on the tank, and connected the blue line to the filler cap drain hose (the one that sticks out by the sidestand) with a T. Nothing has ever dripped out of that line before. The bike wound up being garaged for about 3 weeks due to it being just too damn hot to ride. So the bike sat in the 120+ degree garage the whole time without an issue. Now that's it's cooling off, I started riding into work again. I noticed 2 days ago, when I went to leave for home, there was a CD-sized stain under the drain hose. I wiped some up with my finger, and it didn't smell like gas. More like coolant, and it stained a paper towel yellow. Yesterday, it did the same thing, only less. The bike sits in the sun, and at a slight angle towards the rear. This is the only difference between my garage and now. I know the obvious answer is gas, but it didn't smell like it, and both stains are still wet out there. Wouldn't gas have evaporated by now? Why would gas be leaking out of the tanks vent? Anyone else pull the evap system and have it leak anything?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-19-2013, 11:59 AM

Sounds like coolant as anything else would have evaporated off.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

May the road always curve in front of you.
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-19-2013, 01:05 PM

Yellow color would make me suspect oil. Could be a bit coming from crankcase ventilation.

post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 09-19-2013, 01:23 PM Thread Starter