Radiator Fan Keeps Shorting - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-25-2009, 06:09 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Radiator Fan Keeps Shorting

Hey guys.

New member here, just wanted to pick your brains, as I can't find info about this anywhere....

My radiator fan keeps shorting out. I've taken the fan and plugged it up to a 12v supply (with no fuse) and it works fine, but when the bike's hot enough for the fan to kick on, it just blows the fuse. Not really a problem unless I have to ride in traffic, but I can't find a short anywhere and it's bugging the heck out of me. Any ideas? All help is greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-25-2009, 07:16 PM
Super Moderator

Might be in the harness, maybe a chafing wire. I feel your pain, I chase wires for a living & these things can be a real hassle.

post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-25-2009, 07:39 PM Thread Starter

I've removed all the fairings, and gas tank, don't see anything noticeable. No exposed wires, no evidence of anything rubbing. Could having heated grips (not on) and a power outlet (with nothing hooked up to it) have anything to do with it? Looking at the wiring diagram, I don't see that anything else is on that circuit, but I could be wrong.

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-25-2009, 08:55 PM
Super Moderator

It wouldn't hurt to check them, though they shouldn't be drawing power like that. I would disconnect each one at a time & try that to see what happens. Of course, you'll go through a few fuses...

post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-25-2009, 10:28 PM

I can guarantee you this Monkey, its something you did...Just backtrack all the stuff you did...You might have accidentally harponed a wire just installing your farkles...Good luck

If I new what I was doing, I wouldn't still be working
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-26-2009, 08:43 AM