braided brake lines - Kawasaki Versys Forum
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-16-2009, 06:52 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
braided brake lines

What type or brand of braided brake lines are good for the versys? Can they be ordered for specific models ie 650r or cut to length? I am new to modifying bikes and need some info. I feel my versys brakes would be a little stronger with the rubber lines changed out. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-16-2009, 07:57 PM

I have had many bikes with many different brands of braided brake lines, and I think (with one exception) they're all of a muchness. You won't get stronger braking (physics and friction limit you there), but you will get MUCH better feedback from the lever and pedal, which is a pretty nice thing to have in the rain when you're trying not to lock the front wheel in a hard stop. My first two purchases with any new-to-me bike are braided brake lines and Pazzo levers (I just like the way they make the controls feel).

Anyway, you can get Versys-specific lines by Spiegler from superbikestore.net. They can supply you with lines that run from master cylinder to right caliper, then from right caliper over the fender to the left caliper as the stock ones do (my preference), or two lines from the master cylinder to each caliper individually. I like the Spiegler lines because you can adjust the angle of each fitting individually on the line (HEL and Galfer now have adjustable ones too), and because they are made in the USA.
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-16-2009, 08:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by towversys View Post
What type or brand of braided brake lines are good for the versys? Can they be ordered for specific models ie 650r or cut to length? I am new to modifying bikes and need some info. I feel my versys brakes would be a little stronger with the rubber lines changed out. Thanks