Side Play in drive chain? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-15-2013, 04:03 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Side Play in drive chain?

I took my V to my local Kawasaki/Honda dealer to have some maintenance done (17,000 mile valve adjust, etc.). The service mangager just called me and urged me to get my chain and sprockets replaced - "because there is alot of side play in my chain".

My chain and sprockets have very little wear at 17,000 miles. The axel has been adjusted back about 1/4 of its available travel, the play is set correctly, and the sprocket teeth are neither worn nor hooked.

I've been riding motorcycles on and off for about 40 years, and I've never heard of "excessive side play" in a chain!?! The service manual doesn't mention it. Has anyone heard of "side play in a chain" being a way to determine if a chain/sprockets need replacement?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-16-2013, 02:07 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
NOT certainly in 17,000 miles.... Keep your hand on your wallet.

Ed
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 V AZ, '15 V650LT BC
Ride to D2D 2013, June '13

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Ride to D2D 2015, June '15

Ride to D2D 2016, June '16

post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-16-2013, 03:17 PM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Garage
Am I reading this right> have you actually moved the rear wheel back 1/4 of total available movement? If so, that would seem excessive to me.

I determine wear on a chain largely by how much I can pull it back off the rear of the sprocket plus condition of front and rear sprockets (and replacement of the 3 components). The method described in the manual is most accurate but calls for removal and measurement of chain length.