Front wheel removal? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-12-2009, 01:47 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Front wheel removal?

Ok, I'm a amateur mechanic, What experience has anyone had removing the front wheel. I have the race stands from T-Rex and purchased the large hex for the axle. However what a pain this has been, I thought I could save money on my new tires by removing the wheels myself. The race stand does not work once the axle is removed because it appears the the two blades of the fork do not have the same rebound because only one fork side sits into the stand cradle. Looks like I am going to have to purchase a come-along, because my tie down straps are not adequate to hold the bike up.
any suggestions, more complicated than I anticipated!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-12-2009, 05:57 PM

I used the T-Rex fork stand and a coupla ratchet straps thown over the cross piece on a rafter...no problems w/ tire on or off.

Did you have the rear on the T-Rex bobbin stand? Maybe that's the difference. I pulled both wheels for changing w/ this setup. Worked well.

Montani Semper Liberi
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-12-2009, 08:03 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
T-Rex sells a THIRD piece! It attaches to the front stand and goes into the bottom of your steering head so that the front wheel will remove.
Ed

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-13-2009, 09:40 AM Thread Starter

Thanks Fast Ed.