• 1 Post By onewizard
  • 1 Post By RR Jonny
  • 4 Post By asphaltaddict33
  • 1 Post By Wolfcamp

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-28-2019, 07:54 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Beware: T-Rex Racing quality control lacking

Just installed a center stand for my 650 from T-Rex racing, and the second time I deployed, or rather as I took the bike off of the stand, the spring perch popped off of the right side bracket. I had noticed that the weld did not look great when initially inspecting the kit, and happened to take a photo of it before the install. I am an amateur welder, and since learning to decently MIG, and horrifically TIG, weld things I enjoy seeing welds on finished products. All my initial weld failings trained my eye to spot a dud I guess. The porosity near the edges of the first photo is what tipped my eye to it mayyybe being a poor weld, and oof its a terrible one, almost zero metal fusion occurred.

I was taking photos because I also noticed that 2 holes did not have their threads properly tapped, and they turned out to be too large to accept the M8 - 1.25 tap. That wasnt a big deal, longer bolt and nut solved that issue, but the spring perch ejecting itself is obviously fatal.

Reached out to T-Rex with the attached photos and they are looking into the issue, will update as they respond.

I have their engine case covers, frame sliders, and front axle slider, and they are good quality, install was easy. So it isnt all junk.
If you get any kits from T-Rex inspect things carefully before installing!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_7830.jpg (12.6 KB, 51 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7827.jpg (9.2 KB, 48 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7826.jpg (9.6 KB, 44 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7950.jpg (9.4 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7949.jpg (10.4 KB, 48 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_7947.jpg (14.7 KB, 47 views)

2016 Versys 650LT - Madstad, T-Bob, LeoVince, SeatConcepts, HyperPro CSC Damper, Shoodabeen Flashed