Chain / Time to replace chain? - Kawasaki Versys Forum
 30Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 85 (permalink) Old 05-17-2019, 12:16 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Chain / Time to replace chain?

So I need to replace my chain at 24000 Kms and as this is my first time I thought I would throw out a few questions to the more experienced folks.
1. O or X chain? most of my riding is around town with a little hwy so fairly non aggressive.
2. OEM or DID?
3. I didn't see any ware on my sprockets should I still change them?

Iron Bishop
on a budget, just sayin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 85 (permalink) Old 05-17-2019, 02:29 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
For sure, change the front sprocket and maybe flip the rear sprocket. If any doubt on the rear, replace it. No point in tearing up a not so cheap chain. I tried an aftermarket sprocket but it was quite a bit louder(no rubber noise damper) so I do bite the bullet and go with the MaKaw part. I beat the dealer's price by $8-10 in the states at Rocky Mountain ATV. Perhaps someone else up there is a good place to get OEM parts at a discount. Try using the part number on Google.

Not much help on the O ring X ring as I ride a lot of hard miles and some dirt, so I want the good stuff, X ring for me. Less friction( and heat and arguably better sealing. But our riding styles don't really match up, so...

Important. I've lost 3 or 4 clips from the one chain that used a clip on master link and luckily caught it before anything catastrophic happened(hole in engine, locked rear tire at speed, death, etc.). Rivet only. Buy a rivet kit or have someone else install it, perhaps someone on this forum in your neighbo(u)rhood would volunteer. I'm over 3k miles from you, sorry. If you do your own, be meticulous.

HTH.