5Likes
  • 1 Post By Buffalo_Bob
  • 1 Post By Fly-Sig
  • 1 Post By fasteddiecopeman
  • 2 Post By fasteddiecopeman

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-29-2018, 10:53 AM Thread Starter

Pet Peeve - Is there a fix?

So I'm still fairly new to the Versys and most everything is great but the low fuel warning. It comes on with 1.5 gallons left and it disables the DTE (Distance to Empty) reading. That's well over 100mi remaining on the tank. It's exactly when you need DTE when you're getting low on fuel! It's really quite useless and I still end up driving by my trip meter. So now that my rant is over, is there a way to adjust the warning? For my current riding, 3/4 or 1/2 gallon warning would be perfect.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-29-2018, 11:32 AM

I get about 45 miles to the gallon on my 2011 V so 1.5 gallons would be roughly 60 miles. Sounds about right especially if you are in the middle of nowhere. I believe newer Vs get higher milage.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-29-2018, 12:06 PM Thread Starter

Yeah my math is a bit off, just chalk it up to common core... I think I looked at DTE that morning before my commute and that's what stuck. Doing some critical thinking after a cup o' joe it's about 55mi for me. However turning off DTE, to my thinking, is not very bright.

post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-29-2018, 12:09 PM

The inaccurate gas gauge thing is certainly annoying, especially since you get the low fuel warning. I've had 4 bikes with fuel gauges and all of them have been flaky and inaccurate. Don't know of a fix.

I guess it's still better than the old school way where the bike stated to sputter and you manually flipped the petcock over to reserve! ;(
Sturmeyhack likes this.
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 12-29-2018, 12:24 PM