Heated grips - interesting find - Kawasaki Versys Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By FNG

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-27-2018, 08:03 PM Thread Starter
FNG

Heated grips - interesting find

Hi folks, I recently picked up some heated grips for my 2106 650 LT and found something interesting about how they work. A little background. I have been an electronics technician for 35 years and have access to a lot of very cool expensive equipment. I had planned to buy a set of Oxford heated grips over the winter and do an install before spring. As is turned out, our local Kawi-Honda-Yam-Suz dealer is going out of business and is clearing out all the parts inventory. Not good because now we have no dealer in a town of 500,000 (Wichita KS). Anyway, they had a set of new heated grips from Bikemaster that ended up costing me $30. Couldn't pass up that deal. I wanted to test the grips before I installed them so I took them to work. I hooked them up to a power supply and monitored the voltage and current. I set the voltage at 12.6 volts and the power supply can supply up to 5 amps of current. The voltage of course stayed constant, as monitored on the power supply digital display. However the current would pulse and was not constant. The grips have a setting of 1-5, probably a lot like other units out there. At a setting of 1, the current pulsed between 0 and 2.20 amps at a rate of probably 3 or 4 times a second. It was kind of hard to judge because the digital display was kind of chasing the actual current and seemed to flutter, but I could read it went to 2.20 amps. As I increased the settings up to 5, the rate would slow, but always applied 2.20 amps. When set to 5, the rate was probably about 1 second of current and then off for about the same amount of time. I always figured they would just apply a constant current at different amounts to get the desired amount of heat. The reason I am bringing this subject up is in case some installs heated grip