2014 650 Versys Numerous Problems - Kawasaki Versys Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kensei77

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-14-2017, 09:40 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
2014 650 Versys Numerous Problems

Hi,

I'm new to the forums. I've had my 2014 Versys 650 since November of last year and ride it daily as my daily rider regardless of the weather condition. I'm not new to motorcycles, I've been riding off and on for 25+ years, with the last 6 years consistently.

I love anything on two wheels, bicycles, mopeds, motorcycles. I also enjoy riding ATVs.

I decided to sign up today for two reasons: one; looking to find other Versys riders in my area to maybe do rides with, and two; my Versys is starting to have multiple problems all at once and I need help troubleshooting. But more about that later.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-17-2017, 10:12 PM Thread Starter

Sorry, havenít been online for a couple of days. Thanks to everyone for the welcomes.

So, Iíll try and explain my issues the best I can. It seems Iím getting plagued with multiple problems all at once.

My bike is a 2014 with 13k miles. No modifications mechanically.

First off, Iíve had a flat spot at around 9k rpms for a while. I recently changed the spark plugs and that help with the flat spot, although itís still there a little.
Right plug was brownish and the left plug was more white. Also, thereís discoloration with the headers. Left pipe looks dull like a powder is over it and the other looks normal. Iíll try and post pictures soon.

The bike is now running really smooth through gear 1-4. The problems are when I hit 5th and 6th gears. As long as I donít try and accelerate it seems ok, but once I get on the throttle, even lightly it sounds very throaty, vibrates and doesnít want to accelerate fast.