Adjusting TPS, Throttle Bypass and Idle Speed screws. - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 11-19-2017, 01:07 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Garage
Question Adjusting TPS, Throttle Bypass and Idle Speed screws.

I've been riding my Canadian spec '11 V-650 for a couple months now, in weather ranging from hot and dry to rain, cold, snow and otherwise nasty. I've experienced a noticeable difference in engine response depending on the conditions, and had more than one chance to ponder how the various components of the fuel injection may be working together to sometimes produce crisp, responsive, exhilarating performance. And other times be twitchy to the point that I feel like a new rider.

Of particular interest to me is the often harsh transition from deceleration fuel cut back to fueling when the throttle is opened again. I appreciate that this is a common complaint and has been discussed numerous times. I'd like to approach it from a slightly different angle and welcome your input. I should mention that I have not taken the time to research other forums of Kawasaki 650 engined bikes, so the answers may already be out there. If only I didn't have to sleep...

As far as I can tell, there are a couple components that work together with regard to idle speed and the deceleration fuel cut. The idle speed screw, the throttle bypass screws, and the Throttle Position Sensor are what come to mind as they all are easily adjustable. Intake Air Temperature, Intake Air Pressure and Coolant Temperature sensors are other inputs, but I'd rather not get involved in sending altered signals to the ECU unless absolutely necessary. We know that the factory settings are, at best, "good enough". It would be a rare occasion that a dealership, actually their technicians, would do any better. So, that leaves us enthusiast owners to determine the optimum adjustments, if they exist.