Heated Gear (another electric capacity question) - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-14-2011, 09:28 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Heated Gear (another electric capacity question)

Hey gang,
Was riding on the chilly Sat morning and noticed that when I got going from home and then again after I stopped for a warm coffee on some lazy backroads that my Gerbings gloves weren’t really kicking out a lot of heat based on the dial setting I had them on. However once we got onto some open roads and sustained higher speeds all of a sudden they warmed right up!

I’m no rocket scientist but to me this is some sort of commentary on the amount of ‘juice’ in my battery that is powering these gloves and how when I am riding harder/faster/higher continuous revs that the alternator is pumping more electricity into my battery and therefore the gloves are drawing the amount they are supposed to for the high setting I had them on. Phew!

So do you agree with my assessment here? And if so is that ‘normal’ or is this indicative of a dying battery? Or something else (like maybe just a loose fuse somewhere or something else goofy)? There’s some good discussion here but I am not sure if they are saying my assumptions are correct (that the higher revs are cranking out more electricity? http://www.kawasakiversys.com/forums...hlight=gerbing )

Anyone else experience this and what have you found? Ideally if I put my gloves on a ‘5’ then they would kick out a 5’s worth of heat from the moment I start the bike til I get home. Or is this just not the way it works?

I only use the tender on the battery for extended downtimes. Should I be attaching it every evening to keep things up to par?

Thanks everyone for your feedback-
E
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-14-2011, 09:58 AM