Bike won't start. FI indicator flashes but not been dropped. - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-03-2011, 10:56 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Bike won't start. FI indicator flashes but not been dropped.

Hey all, long time. I've been tooting around on the V now for a couple years, finally turned 19,000 miles yesterday and now some strangeness. At church the other night I went out to start the bike and it kicked over and the FI indicator flashed like the bike's tip-over sensor had been tripped. After a short panic I turned the ignition on and off a couple times and toggled the kill switch and it started.

The same thing happened again today at work. I try to start the bike, FI indicator flashes like it's been tipped over, turn ignition off and back on and toggle the kill switch and it starts.

Any thoughts on where I should start looking (before I look to a mechanic). I figured if this is a simple fix, you all would know.

The bike has had regular oil changes and is garage-kept, although I do ride in the rain quite a bit.

I humbly accept links, evil stares and general ribbing. Thanks in advance for any insight!

2009 Versys
2000 Vulcan Drifter 800
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-03-2011, 11:12 PM

Hi Cetzel,

Flashing Fi shows the vehicle down-sensor is on.
To recycle this would be switching the ignition key off and then on. However this fault will still be in the bike's memory.

I have not done a reset but it's in the service manual.
FYI, the vehicle down sensor is on the right side near the rear shock below the plastic cover. See if any water is shorting it and making a electrical contact.

Good Luck

My V Blog:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ride safe,