Sorry more chain questions. - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-20-2011, 07:17 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Sorry more chain questions.

Looks like I need a new chain and sprockets. I would like to get recommendations on a brand that is priced resonably, but not junk. Also, a place to purchase. Figured I would start here and try to narrow down the possibilities. I think I've decided to go with the 15/44 combo on sprockets. When I change to the 44 rear sprocket I realize my speedo will be closer to accurate, but how does it affect my odometer?

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-20-2011, 07:32 PM

Can't help with sprocket combo but I'd suggest a quality x-ring chain. RK probably has a x-chain and sprocket combo for the V but I'm new to them so I don't know.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-20-2011, 09:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishnbait View Post
Looks like I need a new chain and sprockets. I would like to get recommendations on a brand that is priced resonably, but not junk. Also, a place to purchase. Figured I would start here and try to narrow down the possibilities. I think I've decided to go with the 15/44 combo on sprockets. When I change to the 44 rear sprocket I realize my speedo will be closer to accurate, but how does it affect my odometer?

Thanks in advance.
There are many places to buy chains and sprockets on-line. I have used sprocketcenter.com because you can get the chain to size for your sprocket combo(15/44) and there is a several different options and prices.

As for the Speedo/Odometer question. I went with the 15/43 sprocket combo and my speedo reads almost exactly on to my GPS. However, my odometer now records ~ 4.5% on the low side. Meaning if my trip counter says I rode 100 miles it is closer to 105. No biggie but if you are really tracking exactly how many miles you ride just factor it in if it really matters.