Yet another suspension question - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-21-2011, 06:01 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Yet another suspension question

Hi. I bought a used Versys and wanted to adjust the suspension for my weight. I'm 210lb so I figured I would be better off tightening things down a little from the factory defaults. Here's where I have them set now:

Front Preload: 3.5 turns out from fully seated.
Front Damping: .5 turn out

Rear Preload: 1 out (Setting 6)
Rear Damping: 2 out

I'm a noob to all this. Right now it feels pretty good, pretty solid but I'm just wondering if my anything is backward in my logic (that since i'm heavier, the suspension should be a little tighter). I've already read Gustavo's thread and heeded it but I guess I'm just wondering if damping becomes a matter of personal preference once your preload is dialed in or is there some sciencey way of figuring it out?

To clarify: Like I said, the bike feels good right now, but what happens when I hit one of those seemingly hundreds of nasty bumps on the interstate on my way to work in the morning? What should I expect as compared to the "softer" factory defaults?

Last edited by samill2; 08-21-2011 at 06:09 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-22-2011, 08:27 AM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
If I were you, I'd try increasing fork preload to about 1 turn counterclockwise from all the way in clockwise, and leave rebound at ~1/2 turn out.
Rear spring preload at 3 or 4 clicks (position #4 or #3), out with rebound damping at 8~10 clicks out from hardest.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-23-2011, 05:32 AM
ggg

Quote:
Originally Posted by samill2 View Post
Hi. I bought a used Versys and wanted to adjust the suspension for my weight. I'm 210lb so I figured I would be better off tightening things down a little from the factory defaults. Here's where I have them set now: