Chain Wear - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-12-2011, 11:56 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Chain Wear

What kind of mileage can one expect to get out of these chains?

I have no prior experience with ring-sealed chains (my other bikes have been non-sealed chains or shaft-drive) and the wear – or rather, the lack thereof – that I’m seeing, is surprising the hell out of me!

I just ordered a replacement chain and sprockets because I know they won’t last forever (and they’ll be out of stock when I finally do need them) but...

At 30,000 miles I’ve applied a total adjustment of 2.5mm (at the axle) and the chain is still within factory spec — not just “Service Limit” spec — at 318.3 mm (12.53 in.) it’s still within a rounding error of the “New/Standard” spec of 317.5 ∼ 318.2 mm (12.50 ∼ 12.53 in.) !?!

Also, it’s been a while since I even looked at the front sprocket but the rear sprocket is showing NO sign of wear, and the chain/sprocket fit is still very snug !?!

And I do NOT baby it:

I don’t do wheelies or hole shots and I don’t do extreme engine braking... but I do ride and accelerate with great enthusiasm.

I lube it at 300 mile intervals with “DuPont Teflon Multi-Use Dry Wax Lube”.

I only ride paved roads but I’m still a little embarrassed to admit how rarely clean it – like every several thousand miles or so, I spray it with Tri-Flow, let it sit overnight... and then (using no brushes) just wipe it down with a rag.

So, while I’ve seen where some have had obviously premature wear/stretching, either from lack of maintenance or apparently defective units... what is considered the norm for a properly maintained OEM (EK) chain on the V?

Thanks

~~ Live Like You're Dying ~~
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-12-2011, 04:36 PM

Garage