Oil Replacement - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-13-2011, 01:46 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Oil Replacement

Not wanting to start another oil thread here. However, for the last few oil changes, I have found it increasingly hard to find Mobile 1 Full Syn 15w-50w anywhere in my area. I used to find it at Walmart at a competitive price.
Just wondering if I could replace it with Mobile 1 Full Syn 10w-30w as a replacement?
I have been using 15w-50w in all my bikes for the last 10 years with close to 200k miles in that time. Never had a clutch problem and the bikes have run great.
Thanks

"The Road Goes On Forever And The Party Never Ends"
IBA #23562

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-13-2011, 01:56 PM

I use Mobile 1 full syn 10W-40 (for motorcycles) from Walmart and have had no problems. 10W-30 might be a bit thin

07 Kawasaki Versys + Farkles
MRA Vario Windscreen, Acerbis Dual Road Handgaurds + LEDs, Oxford Heated Grips, Xenon & LED Headlight, Tail Light Flasher, Moto Werk Flat Foot, Mirror Extenders & Foot Peg Lowering Blocks, Rad Gaurd, Fenda Extender, Powerbronze Rear Hugger, Stebel Nautilus Airhorn, T Rex Frame Sliders, Extended Rear Spools, Monster Energy Tank Protector, Magnitic Drain Plug, 12V Power Port, Tom Tom GPS, Xena XX14 Lock Alarm, Givi 409, 464, 449 Bags & Monokey Rack + Kappa 48L Case

Last edited by eldiablo; 07-13-2011 at 02:18 PM.
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-13-2011, 02:01 PM

Shell Rotella 15W-40. Easy to find. A very good heavy duty oil also rated for motorcycles.

Cliff
FPD Ret, USN Ret.

Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 07-13-2011, 02:06 PM
DR_