Bent Rim Lip - Kawasaki Versys Forum
 13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 07:31 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Bent Rim Lip

I am relatively new to the motorcycling world, so I don't have the experience to make this call alone. That is why I am asking you lot!

I have a 2013 650 that I have put close to 4000 miles on in the last year. I managed to hit a fairly large pothole yesterday on my way home ((the kind that would flip a bike if you put the front wheel in it)(the joys of living in Pittsburgh I guess)) but luckily, that isn't the problem.
Nothing felt bad for the rest of the ride home, about 10 more miles, but it was a hell of a hit and I didn't want to take any chances either. When I got home, I found what you see in the attached picture.

Obviously the rim lip is bent, but the tire holds air and there doesn't seem to be any sort of tire deformation. Like I said, everything felt fine, but that doesn't mean something I can't see didn't happen. The question I have is should I look into getting the lip straightened, replacing the tire(this would be the third tire Pittsburgh has destroyed on me,)/replacing the wheel, putting extra air in to make sure it holds/soap spraying everything, or just keeping an eye on it?

The loss of a front tire while moving is generally not ideal, but I have also seen guys on here that have had much worse dents and still continued to ride.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Life advice?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg BentRim.jpg (54.6 KB, 54 views)

Last edited by SpoilyFarts; 08-10-2017 at 07:44 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 10:03 AM

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpoilyFarts View Post
I am relatively new to the motorcycling world, so I don't have the experience to make this call alone. That is why I am asking you lot!