Break in new tires - Kawasaki Versys Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By fasteddiecopeman

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-29-2016, 02:43 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Break in new tires

I'm pretty new to all this and I'm getting new tires next week. If anyone has a new tire break in procedure / plan they recommend I'd love to hear. (Getting Pirelli Angels if that matters). Thx
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-29-2016, 02:49 PM

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to silviefox
ride about 100 miles and ride like the roads wet even tho its dry

yes im a guy.
Silvie=latin for. Of the forest /woods. Fox= Vulpine (also my middle name)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"closed mindedness causes bliss in simple minded people"
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-29-2016, 04:25 PM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffhauser77 View Post
I'm pretty new to all this and I'm getting new tires next week. If anyone has a new tire break in procedure / plan they recommend I'd love to hear. (Getting Pirelli Angels if that matters). Thx
Unless you ride like a maniac, you'll likely never notice. Some tires, like Continentals, use newer techniques that don't even require mold release and hence really have no break in.
The only time I've ever noticed a new tire loosing grip was a Pilot Power on a track day. And it only got squirrely when I'd hit the concrete pad on the horseshoe at Mid-Ohio. On the asphalt turns it held fine. After about 3 laps, it stuck fine even on the concrete.

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-29-2016, 05:41 PM