• 1 Post By kohburn
  • 1 Post By Fly-Sig
  • 3 Post By Biz
  • 1 Post By saddlebag

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 08:04 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Garage
When is it too late to switch to Synthetic?

YES, another oil question...sorry... but I have been searching around the many existing oil threads and can't seem to find my answer.

I have a 2010 Versys with almost 18,000kms on it (about 11,000 miles). I have been using OEM filters and oil. My question isn't if synthetic is better, but whether or not it is too late to make the switch. (Yes, I am not a mechanic or even very experienced in bike maintenance...)

From what I understand, switching "older" engines to synthetic is a waste of time but I am wondering, if I do switch, what differences does synthetic oil really make?

Help a rookie out...Any insight is very much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 08:17 AM

In short I don't think its ever too late, but you can do it too soon.
11,000 miles seems like nothing on these bikes, you have many more miles left.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 09:09 AM
Banned

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
You could probably run on "ordinary" oil 'till your speedo reads 100k mls with no problems, it's one of those "never to be fully answered" situations.
I did however swap to synthetic when l bought my Versys 2nd hand at around 10k miles.

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 09:13 AM

once you have leaking seals and gaskets with conventional oil synthetic will generally leak even more. if you change it before anything leaks then usually it won't be a problem.
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-22-2016, 09:22 AM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by kohburn View Post
once you have leaking seals and gaskets with conventional oil synthetic will generally leak even more. if you change it before anything leaks then usually it won't be a problem.