1Likes
  • 1 Post By blipco

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-01-2015, 11:18 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Smile Salvage Advice in MA

Greetings from Boston!

Versys-Left.jpg

My first bike, a previously-totaled '08 Versys, is about to be fixed up and brought in for a reinstated title. I've never done this sort of thing before (though I do have a mechanic friend walking me through all of this). Does anyone have any experience/advice in this area?

Not really looking for repair tips, that part's the easy part. Procedures and paperwork in the People's Republic of Massachusetts? That's hard.

I've got all the relevant links from the government websites, but if you've had dealings (in MA or elsewhere) with salvage bikes and care to share some wisdom, I'm all ears.

Well, all eyes. Unless I fire up a screen reader or something.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-01-2015, 12:04 PM

Garage
I am of no help to you....

But bike looks pretty decent from the one pic. What did you pic it up for, and how much $ are you expecting to need to put into it to get it back on the road?

08' Versys
Givi racks with V35 sides, and V46 Top-case, Garmin Zumo 450 GPS, Powermadd Handguards, Motowerks GPS Mount, Peg Lowering kit, Flat Foot, Arrow Exhaust, Adjustable Levers, GIPro Gear Indicator, Oxford Heated Grips
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-01-2015, 08:30 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by HAWKSHOT99 View Post
I am of no help to you....

But bike looks pretty decent from the one pic. What did you pic it up for, and how much $ are you expecting to need to put into it to get it back on the road?
Grabbed this one for $2,400 with about 30k miles on it, only needed about $400 more in parts. An insurance company may have to replace the cosmetically-dented muffler, but I don't… I'm just fixing the parts it needs to run.

And the right fairing, cause it was broke as hell.