Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

Review after recent trip...

2K views 14 replies 11 participants last post by  Mawson 
#1 · (Edited)
Over Memorial Day weekend I took a 1150 mile trip that, for the most part, let me use most things I've purchased for or for use with, my Versys.
I'm no writer but here is my review of most of it.

Rider - Me, Chris. I’ve been riding about 6 years and the Versys is my third bike. Like most who are in love, there are many times I think the V will be my last but obviously it won't. I do hope I have for a long time though. My first bike was a '81 Kawasaki 440 LTD and second was '95 Triumph Thunderbird. I've had the opportunity to ride a harley, a Honda CB600 and a Honda Shadow. So, I am by no means Mr. Experience, but at least I've ridden a couple different bikes. I am pretty cautious in riding style though do like to get on it. I'm still learning, but then again, aren’t we all.
I'm 6'5 and weigh about 215.

Windscreen - MRA Vario Touring Windscreen - I bought this a month or two ago used from one of the members on this forum for $75. I think the screen looks really cool and it did a pretty good job on this trip. It kept the wind off my chest but did put quite a bit of turbulence on my helmet. It seemed if I adjusted it to the lower position the buffeting was less but if I have to have it on the lowest position to be most effective I might as well just use the stock one. I did go into a full tuck for a while one the interstate and it did give me a great pocket of air to rest in but I can't ride like that for long. Perhaps for someone shorter then me it would be really good. I am not ready to get rid of it because it may be a nice blend of looks and function that is not easily replaceable.