How long to wait to ride freeway? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 06-02-2010, 06:55 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
How long to wait to ride freeway?

I've been riding for 2 weeks now. I'm brand new to motorcycling. I got my permit a couple weeks ago and have logged over 300 miles so far. I just got my MSF cert and got my M1 license added yesterday which allows me to ride on the freeways, with passengers and at night.

I take backroads right now to work cause I'm not sure if I want to try the freeway yet. But I thought I'd get your guys' (and gals') input on this. How soon is too soon to ride on the freeway for a new rider? Keep in mind this is Northern California. It'll be 3-4 lanes each way, speed limit 65 (traffic speed of 65-75). From my house to my work is only 3 miles on the freeway, but it shaves about half my commute time compared to back roads.

I want to play it safe and don't want to rush riding on the freeway, so how long should I wait? At what point should I just go for it? Any tips?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 48 (permalink) Old 06-02-2010, 07:06 PM

Think you are right to be cautious, specially in NorCal. Riding around the back roads is more fun and probably gives you a more diverse riding experience. I've been riding a while and it always takes me about 1000 miles to get comfortable on a new machine.

Cagers are oblivious to us bikers, even more so on crowded freeways, my suggestion would be give it a month or around 1000miles.

There is no rule of thumb, maybe try the freeway at the weekend when traffic might not be so competitive.

Machog

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 48 (permalink) Old 06-02-2010, 07:15 PM

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchristian79 View Post