Versys vs.XJ650....help a new guy! - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-23-2008, 08:09 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Versys vs.XJ650....help a new guy!

Hello everyone, great forum with lots of useful info here - thank you.

I've been devouring as much info as I can find on the Versys and frankly, at this point, I'm looking for a reason NOT to buy one. Unfortunately I'm unable to test ride any here in my area so I'm hoping some of you may be able to draw a comparison for me.

I'm new to the sport, picking up an old but well kept '82 Yamaha Maxim 650 late last year, and loving every minute of it. I've got about 5000 miles under my belt and I've been ready to take the plunge into something more "modern". I have a few friends that ride cruisers and for a brief time I had fallen in love with the Kawa Nomad - but after a friend dropped off some motorcycle mags to me I began to read about the Versys and the intrigue set in.

When I originally picked up the XJ650 I was sure the 650cc thing would be short lived as a starter bike, but really the only problem I have with this bike (aside form overall comfort) is it's cruising at highway speeds. She'll get up there but she sounds awfully uncomfortable at 80mph and beyond.

My big question is: How will the Versys twin 650 compare to the XJ's 4 cylinder 650?

My cruiser friends think I'm nuts getting another 650, and with all the talk about a possible 1000cc Versys on it's way I wonder if I should hold off. The appeal of great gas mileage and the high praise this bike has gotten "as is" makes me wonder if I need the 1000cc's.

I was told by a buddy that a new bike is going to feel much better all around than my current 27 year old steed. This makes sense to me but if anyone can expand on this comparison I'd be greatly appreciated as it's the only source of comparison I have.

Thanks in advance - happy riding!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement