Anyone ATGATT and a daily commuter? Let's chat. - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 55 (permalink) Old 07-26-2015, 10:50 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Anyone ATGATT and a daily commuter? Let's chat.

I have a 20 mile commute to a white collar job that involves 16 miles of interstate and 4 miles of city driving. I haven't been able to figure out how to make my gear plus my attitude fit my needs, I want to be ATGATT and I need to be professional. I'm a field technician for a financial institution, so my work day is every place from vaults to server rooms to sales desks, as long as I look somewhat professional it's cool.

I have a Joe Rocket mesh riding jacket in neon green that is ugly as hell but that I love because it ensures that people see me. I wear Oakley combat boots on the days I'm able to ride, usually stuffing some sneakers under the net and straps on the back seat. I don't have any boxes.

I have cold weather and warm weather gloves, so that's set.

I have a nice helmet and nice glasses, so I'm fine there, plus a Turtlefur neck warmer for the seriously cold days. It's amazing.

My real issue is pants. I can't sort this one out. I'm not really supposed to wear jeans, but it's no real problem if I do. That said---I'm not spending $240 on a pair of kevlar jeans. I recognize that my Wranglers aren't going to do much for me in an accident. I've looked at overpants but I don't want to cook my yarbles in the hot days. I also don't wear leather clothing. Long story, don't ask, no I'm not a vegan---my boots are leather.

So anyway---I don't mind I guess changing @ work, but that seems dumb. Is there a set of protective overpants that won't cook me, that I can just take off in the office? Am I overlooking something obvious? Any insight?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 55 (permalink) Old 07-26-2015, 11:20 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 29 Post(s)