Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

Too late to change break in method at 100 miles???

3K views 18 replies 16 participants last post by  VerstehenZee 
#1 ·
I just went over 100 miles on my brand new '09. This is my first bike and first brand new vehicle period and I'm brand new to motorcycling. For the last 100 miles I've been following the manuals recs of keeping it under 4k rpm (although there are periods where I go above that to around 5k).

I've been reading up over the last day or two on Motoman's hard break in as well as a couple other sources that recommend the same. According to the hard break in, the most crucial time to run it hard is somewhere within the first 50 miles or so.

Considering I'm already at 100, is it too late to get the benefits of a hard break in if I work it out now? I was told by the dealer that all I need to do is to keep it under 6k rpm and bring it back for it's 600 mile service.

Being brand new to all this and reading the differing views is kinda freaking me out a little that I may be doing more harm than good!

#3 · (Edited)
It's not too late. The sooner, the better. You can start gradually increasing your loads (throttle) and rpm's right away... After a full warm up, accelerate through low gears at 3/4 throttle from 40% to 80% max rpm (4000-8000 rpm), upshift a gear and engine-brake a few times. Ride normally for a few miles, then accelerate at full throttle from 30% to 100% max rpm (3000-10000+ rpm), upshift a couple gears to engine-brake a few times. Ride normally for a few miles, then give it a good ride and change the oil and filter at the end the day.
I did the break-in progressively, varying speeds and loads often, a few 4000-6000 rpm runs, after a while 4000-8000 rpm runs, then by 100 miles I was doing a few 3000-10500 rpm runs in 2nd and 3rd gears. I expected to just run it up to 10000 but it pulls real strong right up to redline in second gear. I changed the oil at the end of the first day at 140 miles.

#6 ·