Versys vs KLR... any advice? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 05-19-2010, 12:36 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Versys vs KLR... any advice?

I have been spying on the Versys for nearly two years when I read about this new bike which defied all pigeon holed catagories and fell in loke with its looks, engine, aftermarket mod/adventure options but I have a question.

I am 6'4" 180 (this means tall to the numerically challenged) I live about 3 miles from my office. I am looking at a weekend adventure bike but easy to ride & live with commuter with great mpg.

Most of the riding will be on roads (80/20) as compared to the typical Oregon gravel/ logging roads dirts etc.

I love both Kawasaki offerings. I have owned a single thumper brit bike before and have looked at the BMW and the VStrom. I don't like those options and prefer the Kawasaki's.

I love the idea of fully outfitting the bike with back box, side panniers, tank bag, GPS, putting on the dual sport tyre like the Distanzia (or something similar). Taking it flyfishing on the Deschutes or Eastern Oregon etc a couple of times per year.

Also, I have been told the Versys is more livable for the taller riders (the KLR is built for 5'9" and shorter) even with peg relocation & taller screens? Is this true? Any 6'4" or taller riders have pros-cons regarding fit?

Any advice is appreciated as the bike shop near my office has a 2009 new (3 miles on the clock) Versys for $5200 and I have located a couple of outfitted KLR's for 3200 to 3800.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 05-19-2010, 12:43 PM

haha, this post was directly posted towards me, I'm 6'4" and own both a 2009 klr and a 2009 versys.

They are apples and oranges to be honest. The klr is great for trails, gravel etc but sucks doing sustained speeds IMO. It is sluggish at the upper end, powerful down low, a tractor.