Shifting issues - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 07-18-2008, 10:12 PM Thread Starter
4vX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Shifting issues

I'm new to cycling and not sure what to expect from my V's tranny. It has just over 1K miles and will frequently stop in neutral when I'm attempting to shift from 1st to 2nd gear. Also, I've experience the inability to change gears when at a complete stop and shifting to neutral for shutdown. Any similiar issues out there? Not sure if I should contact the dealer or get shifting instructions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 07-18-2008, 11:10 PM

Not sure specific to the Versys as I am still an owner in waiting, but it sounds like a dual issue:

1. It's not even close to broken in yet, and the second problem of shifting to neutral to shut down is a common thing i have seen in almost every new bike I have had. Give it some time and a few scheduled maintenances and that should smooth out.

2. The shift from first to second and it stopping in neutral, in my opinion, could be a dual-issue. Maybe a mix of the tranny needing to be broken in combined with a clutch/cable/lever adjustment combined with your adjusting your shifting action...maybe not putting enough into the shift action in the low gears. Most newer riders have problems with smooth/accurate shifting at the low gears.

IMHO
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 07-18-2008, 11:15 PM

only down shifting

when my bike is hot during a long run I have had a little diffiulty down shifting while stopped or coming to a stop. I'll wait to see if it gets worse as I have had similar issues with many other bikes.

post #4 of 29 (permalink) Old 07-18-2008, 11:19 PM Thread Starter
4vX

Bigtex1974,