New rider considering Versys, pricing advice needed! - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-12-2010, 12:49 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
New rider considering Versys, pricing advice needed!

Hey all,

I'm brand new to motorcycling and have been considering the V-Strom and the Versys. A local Kawasaki dealer is closing out their '09 Versys stock (3 left and I put a hold on one) and I'm seriously considering picking one up. It's brand new, with warranty.

I'm in Sacramento, California and the deal is $6299 out the door (including tax, title, license, freight, setup). From the research I've done, this is a pretty good deal considering the used V-Strom's I'm finding in my area are going for around $5k with 10k miles on them.

So, should I go for this deal? Oh, and if so, green or blue

Also, the dealer that has it has the basic Kawasaki accessories for it. I'm considering their top case trunk and the "tall" windscreen as additions. Anyone have any experience with these? I've heard good things about Givi stuff, but I can't afford to pay for them upfront now, but can roll the others into my financing if I want to.

Any advice for the newbie?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-12-2010, 01:34 AM

that aint a bad deal at all... and you'll be getting a wholelotta bike for that cash. i just got a green one myself and am VERY happy with it.

scouring CraigsL, this forum (and others), can easily save you a couple hondos on extras... so consider holding off on new bags right off unless you know you need them, as the markup at the dealers is pretty steep (and you're paying tax and interest on it, which makes it even more of a premium). just my opinion, others will vary.