This may be a goofy question - buying new bike - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-07-2010, 05:18 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
This may be a goofy question - buying new bike

I have always bought used bikes and therefore this question:

I have been negotiating with a Kawi dealer for a 2010 Versys and since the production seems to have been stopped, he only has one in stock which happens to be the floor model. When I spoke to the sales guy on phone (and email), he said the bike hasn't even been started yet and will only be prepped for me to test ride before my purchase. And then I went in yesterday and was told by a different sales person that the bike has about 15 kms on it because mechanics try it after prepping it and that this bike is as new as a bike can be and that it is common to have 15-20 kms during prep. I don't mind a couple of kms on a brand new bike but 15 is a bit too much or am I just being too uptight about buying a new bike?

Looking forward to some words of wisdom from experienced riders.

Last edited by datawiz2012; 05-07-2010 at 05:21 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-07-2010, 05:35 AM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to kiwi 41
not a goofy question as it is wise to ask such questions, not sure myself as never been blessed enough to get a brand spanker but some of the gurus on the sight will see you right, hope it all goes well for you.
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 05-07-2010, 05:49 AM

They don't ride them as part of the prep. Different manufactures send the bikes with different amounts of dis-assembly to fit them in the metal crate. From the factory they come with about 3 Miles on the odo. (5km) Usually all the dealer does is check torque and bolt on handlebars.