Rocky Mountain versys ( new owner) - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-15-2008, 07:29 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Rocky Mountain versys ( new owner)

Bought my new versys 7-3-08, great bike one of my favorites to date, I do 90% if my steet bike riding in the colorado rockys on and off road. I sold my ktm 640 rally great on dirt, kind of painfull getting there by road. My thoughts of the versys so far is all good\, in the two weekennds Ive had to ride I logged over 1000 mi. I was a little concerned about how the bike would do on dirt Passes and ez 4wd trails they were put to rest this last weekend, even with the stock tires you can get away with a lot off the road. The suspension commpression is a little stiff for dirt roads with a rocky base like we have here above treeline. Its not as bad as I thought it would be, I have a friend who is a master of suspension revalves Niel @(Hitchcock Industries) I may see what he can do to take the edge off without taking away from the great cornering ability this bike has in the canyons. I did order a vario screen from kawasaki got it just before I took off this weekend 10 min install, what a great screen! no buffeting and great protection, buy one I was not disapointed .I put some hand guards from a 04 ktm 300 I had in the garage for years painted them black,they work good for wind and bug protection. A thick piece of sheep skin with a stap attached helped seat comfort to the point I now LIKE the seat on long days,Cordura soft side bags. Gas mpg 52-54 got 62 riding from Gunnison back to Denver this weekend. I WANT TO THANK YOU GUYS ON THIS WEB SITE FOR ALL THE INFO YOU HAVE PROVIDED, A TRUE PUBLIC SERVICE. or I may not have bought this bike. and for those of you like me a few weeks back ,if you can find one of these bikes buy it its well worth the money. I currently have 16 bikes, and the Versys is number 78total for me to date.. I have owned or ridden most bik