Versys v. FZ6 - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-13-2008, 12:03 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Versys v. FZ6

Hi folks. This looks like a nice forum. This is my first post.

I'm only in my second year of riding, having started late. I began on the wonderful Ninja 250, then this Winter I bought my dream bike, an FZ6.

While there's much to like about the FZ6, I find myself critical of it in many ways. I have an recurring urge to find something different - but what?

Some of the issues I have with the FZ6 are:
  • A high center of gravity, coupled with a high seat, (and a binary clutch,) makes stopping and low speed maneuvering difficult. I'm 5'-10", 190#, with a 32" inseam.
  • The engine is a detuned R6 engine, but it's still a 14k screamer. Yes, it really roars north of 9k, but I rarely ride that way.
  • The I-4 engine is buzzy. This was a real problem at first, but at 4k miles about 60% of the buzziness is gone, thank God. But still the engine lacks the nice smooth feel to it that the 250R had. With earplugs the 250 sounded like a small Learjet; all I could hear was the whir of the gearbox. It was ethereal, meditative. The FZ6 grinds away, and when I'm cognizant of it it's annoying.
  • The stock lighting sucked. I've since hooked up the second low beam, and now it's not too bad. Next step would be an HID-projector retrofit, but first I need to decide to keep the bike.
  • To my surprise, the FZ is no better, and maybe worse, than the baby ninja regarding wind turbulence, even with a Puig racing screen, and despite being 33% heavier. This is an important issue for me as I'm on the highway frequently.

On the Versys side, I've never ridden one but my observations are:
  • Also high seat, but CoG is low.
  • I like the looks - except for the face. And red is not my color. (My fz is blue and I like its black frame).