Advice to My Son Who Wants to Ride - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-01-2015, 08:07 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Advice to My Son Who Wants to Ride

I recently let my 28 year old son know that I started riding again. His response was eagerness to start himself. He's never ridden before. This was my advice to him, slightly edited to remove some of the personal stuff. I thought some of the newer riders might benefit, like my son.
  1. Plan slowly and cautiously; ease into it. A lot of what creates survivability is being disciplined and thoughtful about your process. Right when you think “I have it”, you will crash. Riding is dangerous beyond compare and even the most experienced riders go down.
  2. Consider starting with off road only - get a dirt bike and a truck to transport it. This is the safest way to learn motorcycle handling and falling without much risk of being seriously hurt. You will fall at some point in the early learning, better to fall in the dirt where there aren’t cars and light poles to kill you.
  3. Follow the ATGATT rule - All The Gear All The Time. That isn’t just a helmet. Gear I consider mandatory:
    a) Full face helmet of the best brands out there as tight fitting as you can stand without reducing your concentration. With full face shield, always down. I use a Shoei Quest full face helmet in white. Do not use patterned or dark colors - use hi vis.
    b) Leather - best is leather top and bottom, but leather riding jacket is a must, with full armor. Mine is Alpinestars GP Plus R perforated with full upgraded armor on my spine, shoulders, chest, elbows. It weighs a ton, but I know it will protect me.
    c) I don’t have full leather suit or pants, so I use separate armor on hips, thighs, knees, and tail bone under Kevlar lined jeans. I use separate armor from Forcefield under the Kevlar jeans to achieve this.
    d) Riding boots - I use Alpinestars SMX 6 vented boots.