SideBags - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-15-2010, 11:32 AM Thread Starter

SideBags

I want to buy a pair of side bags for my Versys but I´m not sure which to chose ... I have two GIVI´s options; one hard case and one softcase (T421). Does anybody can send me recommendations and experiences with both bags??? For example... these bags tend to move out of place by the wind or in hard trails.
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-15-2010, 09:49 PM

Although I have no experience with Givi soft saddlebags, I previously used my Cortech soft saddlebags/top bag on my Ninja 250 without any "blowing around" issues. There are several points of attachment using male/female clips. Very sturdy. I recently installed A Givi e460 topcase on the Versys. When going on longer trips, I'll add the Cortech soft saddlebags (saving my pennies for the Givi side cases).
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-16-2010, 11:42 AM

Had both soft and hard side bags (hard wasn't on the V).

Now convinced that soft bags are the way to go. Minor spills can be hugely expensive with hard bags, soft bags seems to absorb the fall much better.

IMHO, V looks crap with hard bags on it, spoils the look, for me, they are just too big. Plus are much lighter and did I mention the price differential???

Hard bags with frames will be around $500.00 I think. My soft bags were $60.00. You do loose some security (anti theft), but that's why I have the locking top box for GPS, camera etc when I stop and leave bike unattended.

As long as you cinch up the over straps tight and put them under the saddle, bags will stay parallel to the wheel and not tuck in without a frame. I go motelling and camping with mine. With those and a small top box I can easily get in all I need. Had this set up for 23k miles and wouldn't change it.