My Bike on Exhibit - and the replacements.. - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-15-2014, 08:23 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
My Bike on Exhibit - and the replacements..

I'm a photographer, and for the past year and a half, Kawasaki in Indonesia (KMI) has sponsored me. They gave me a Versys and paid for the printing of my latest book, "Travels on Two Wheels, a broader perspective on Bali" which is all panoramas. I also just shot their 2015 calendar.
For all of last week my bike, fully "loaded" was on exhibit in a major international shopping mall, promoting both Kawasaki and the book evidently. For about 3 days they gave me a Ninja 650 with a two brothers exhaust FS to ride. I hated it! Besides the weird handling, the stupid exhaust system set off 3 car alarms on my street one day. My neighbors were suitably unimpressed. I went to the mall and stared at my bike full of nostalgia. Finally they broke down and lent me another 2012 Versys and I was happy as a pig in ****. But I did notice that it was a lot smoother than mine, especially after I got mine back today (man, was it clean hehehe). I have 22K on mine - is it time for a major engine overhaul?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCF0067.jpg (58.5 KB, 144 views)
File Type: jpg DSCF0072.jpg (70.7 KB, 137 views)

"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former."
- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-15-2014, 08:58 AM

Very cool. I may have to check that book out.
Time for an engine overhaul....? It shouldn't after 22k, but I guess its relative. If your really working that motor it may, but probably just needs a good tune up and some adjustments.

- Ian Thomas
2013 Versys
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-15-2014, 06:18 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by IanThomas View Post
Very cool. I may have to check that book out.