Thinking about buying a Versys - what do you like/dislike? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 11-23-2009, 11:50 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Question Thinking about buying a Versys - what do you like/dislike?

Newbie here - thinking about plonking down some cash for a new '09 V. What do you all love, like, dislike, and hate about your bikes?

I'm coming off a BMW 1200GS and going with two bikes - a Versys and a KTM 640 Adventure. I'm looking for a fun tarmac bike for occasional lite touring (a week max), a good lane splitter for a short but congested commute, very occasional well maintained fire roads, but mostly fun and spiritied one day canyon carves.

Let the opinions fly - I can take it! Thanks in advance for the wisdom and slightly biased opinions!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 11-24-2009, 12:02 AM

get the Versys..sold my 1150rt to get it...love it...downsides..the seat..needs a rework, some guys are buying corbins and such but the stock seat is easily reworked ( i posted pics awhile back on changes to the bike i made) little buzzing in the dash plastic but easily fixed....bike will easily do long touring and makes a good canyon carver to..good buy
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 11-24-2009, 05:08 AM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSThor View Post
- a Versys and a KTM 640 Adventure. I'm looking for a fun tarmac bike for occasional lite touring (a week max), a good lane splitter for a short but congested commute, very occasional well maintained fire roads, but mostly fun and spiritied one day canyon carves.
Definitely the Versys. A KTM 640 vibrates like hell, lacks the Versys' top end power, is better off road and harder on gas...

post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 11-24-2009, 12:00 PM