Be careful out there guys - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-01-2008, 04:45 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Be careful out there guys

Watch out for gravel on the road, and wear all of your gear, all of the time. That includes protective boots.

Fractured left fibula
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-01-2008, 05:06 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
How did you manage to break that? How's the Versys? When can you ride again?
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-01-2008, 05:27 AM Thread Starter

I went down when I hit a patch of gravel and my leg got smashed between the Versys and the asphalt. The foot-stay snapped in half, shift lever bent, and the cowling was a little scratched. I picked it up and walked it home, thinking my ankle was just sprained. I fixed the Versys and was actually out riding it again, and working (I'm a nurse, so I work on my feet for 12 hours at a time).

Well, the pain in my leg kept getting worse, so I figured I'd visit the ER downstairs one day after my shift was over. They took an X-ray, and when it developed, I realized it was more than just a sprained ankle.

So, I'm off the Versys for now, and on crutches until the orthopedic doc says I can resume normal activity.

post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-01-2008, 05:36 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Wow... It looks cracked instead of broken, so I guess it was still stable. It should heal pretty quick and straight. Drink lotsa milk.

Last edited by invader; 07-01-2008 at 05:38 AM.
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-01-2008, 08:55 AM

Greg,