Two-Up Riding Capability - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-02-2009, 11:20 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Two-Up Riding Capability

I currently have a BMW R1150RT that is for sale. I want to replace it with a smaller bike and have been considering either a Versys or VStrom 650. I have no riding experience with either. My question is about the capability of the Versys when riding with a passenger. My wife will ride with me occassionally, but only for day trips or short local jaunts. How does the Versys do in the areas of power and comfort? Would I need a different seat? I've read many glowing reports about the V being a fun and capable machine, but these all seem to be from solo riders. Any input would be much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-02-2009, 11:51 AM

I did a 2500 trip, slightly geared up and fully loaded, with my g/friend ( 120lb'r/5ft,) 500 miles at a time, m/way and mountains, no problem for both of us. Power remained nippy and handles slightly better in the rear in fact.

much Taller/bigger pillions might be a little too high in the wind blast/knees high but for a day trip, even that should be no problem. 200+ miles to a tank is nice too.

Make some or buy a tribo seat to stop them sliding is worth dowing even on short trips.

Last edited by 4731; 11-02-2009 at 11:53 AM.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-02-2009, 12:59 PM Thread Starter

Thanks for the reply. Sounds like the V did just fine. If I get one I would plan to add side bags and a top case. My wife likes the security of having the topcase to lean back on, so it would be in the plan for extras. She's 5'6" and about 135 (who knows for sure!) so I think her size on the bike would work fine. I can only get her to go out for short rides at this point so your trip is way more than I would expect for us.

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-02-2009, 01:21 PM Thread Starter