Lowering seat height - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-21-2014, 02:24 AM Thread Starter
LDB

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Lowering seat height

What are the options for a lower seat height? I'm 5'9" on a good day with around 30.5" inseam. Back in the 70's when I started riding it seemed like most bikes weren't too big. Now it seems like most are designed for NBA players. What can be done and at what cost? Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-21-2014, 02:41 AM

Garage
The lowering block from Motowerks is the answer you want. Its 127$ and super easy to install.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-21-2014, 06:13 AM

Garage
I don't know how long you've had your V, but a little more time on the bike may make the difference for you. I'm the same size as you and found the Versys to be like sitting on a tower compared to my Ninja 250. It took a month or 2 to get used to the height, but I love it now and there is no way I'd lower it.

My 2 cents.

Always trust your cape.

Last edited by ATYC; 05-21-2014 at 08:18 AM.

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-21-2014, 06:43 AM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikej View Post
The lowering block from Motowerks is the answer you want. Its 127$ and super easy to install.
I bought that, and also the kickstand foot. Cut off an inch and a half or so (per instructions) of the kick stand with a hacksaw and installed the foot.

You also need to drop the fork tubes in the triple trees by about an inch.

Total cost was about $186, if I remember correctly.

Like the bike much better now.
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-21-2014, 12:02 PM