The first thousand miles - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-31-2009, 06:53 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
The first thousand miles

I'm a noob on this forum but have been reading all the threads here for several weeks. All the information here helped me decide that the Versys would be a good fit for me. After puting a thousand miles on the new bike I figured it was time to pay back, so to speak, buy reporting on my experiences so far.

Some base information. I bought my first bike in the 60's and have owned quite a few over the years so I have some riding experience. The last couple years I have been stretching out the trips to include some that have covered several days and several thousand miles. I love the roads in North Georgia and western North Carolina. Last bike was a KGT BMW. Nice but too heavy.
Bad back.

For me the Versys looks like the answer for a good lightweight touring bike.
I was concerned about how much vibration it would have. After a 1000 miles
I am amazed how smooth it is. A little buzz around 4700 rpm but quite smooth in the cruise range.

The brakes. I think they are very good. Read about some folks opting for steel lines but I am happy with the stock setup.

The foot pegs. They were getting into my legs a little when stopped so I took about a half inch off them and rounded them off. Problem solved.

Mirrors. Mine must have been installed correctly because they have been no problem at all.

The seat. So far so good. My ass has been conditioned by the KGT seat. I liked that one just fine but it took a couple thousand miles to get used to it.
Most people do not like the KGT seat. The shape of that seat is just about the same as the Versys.

Heat off the engine. When it is 90+ down here in SW Flatistan I get some heat off the engine but all I need to do is get my knees off the the tank a little bit, then it is fine. Hey its a bike, we're sittin right on the engine.