NFG Seeking advice - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 09-18-2009, 12:52 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
NFG Seeking advice

Hi all,
I am new to the forum and seeking advice. In fact, I am new to the motorcycling world itself. After reviewing many articles, searching around for bikes, reviewing this forum etc., I am pretty sold on the versys. It seems to me that it will fulfill all my motorcycling desires, which brings me to my first question...Would you recommend this as a beginner bike? I have read many things that say not to go over 600cc, but all of the dealers I have spoken with look at me and say "get something bigger". I am a decent sized guy, about 210lb and 6'2". So reaching the floor on the versys is not a problem. Also, I might be new to the moto world, but I was not born yesterday and realize the upsale factor by dealers. So I am interested in some honest, impartial advice from you all. I would also like some advice on negotiating (what's their typical markup/profit margin in th US), loans, insurance coverage. I realize alot of this is dependent upon personal factors (loans/insurance); I am just looking for the big no-nos. Imagine that you are beginning, but knowing what you know now after years of experience. Kinda like being 18 again!! Thanks in advance for any info.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 09-18-2009, 01:11 PM

The dealerships are telling you to get something more powerful than the Versys knowing you are a new rider? If this is the case they are only after your money and don’t care to much about you as a human. I think the Versys can make a good first bike for some people. On the flip side of that a Honda Rebel or Ninja 250 make good first bikes, for some people.

If you have worries about the Versys not being powerful enough all I can say is put that worry aside. It has more than enough power to probably outrun any car you have ever owned.