"Kawasaki" Importer Woes... (Mexico) - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 12:48 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
"Kawasaki" Importer Woes... (Mexico)

I'm on my third Kawasaki and everytime I have a Kawasaki I swear I'll never own another one...

But the truth is, Kawasaki does make some bikes that appeal to me, like my current Versys 650. You know what would make it better? ABS, I want ABS. Soon I'll start commuting 30 miles in stop-go city traffic, plenty of oblivious drivers that forget that they are driving and focus on their damn cellphones. I know how to brake, I've had my fair share of close calls as I've been riding daily for the last 11 years, but I know that a computer will react and correct faster when/if I screw up...

You can only tell how excited I was when finally the ABS equipped Versys was available for 2014, that is, until I saw the price...

In the USA it goes like...
V-Strom 650 ABS: $8600
Versys 650 ABS: $8000

In Mexico it goes like...
V-Strom 650 ABS: $10,134
Versys 650 ABS: $12,057

BMW F700GS (base): $11,112

And pretty much all of Kawasaki's lineup is ridiculously overpriced, another example:
ZX-10R ABS: $19,452
S1000RR: $18,500

Ninja 300 $8,014
CBR 250 $4,500

LOL, Que?

And if you end up overpaying and bring one home, you're basically on your own if it breaks. For example, I had the clutch cable on my Versys break. Guess what? None in stock, I had to pay for it and wait 30 working days for it. Want an air filter? Same thing. Want an oil filter? Same thing. Basically, they stock nothing.

With this importer you end up paying more for a Kawasaki than for a BMW, you get the absolute worst post sale support, which turns in a record setting depreciation.

Tried to contact them, didn't got a reply. Tried to contact them on Facebook, they deleted my comment and blocked me from posting on the company page.