There are bald tires, and there are BALD TIRES - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-13-2013, 09:15 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
There are bald tires, and there are BALD TIRES

DON'T do this. I freaked myself out earlier today when I stopped at the dealer to get a quote on a rear tire, dragged my mechanic out to see what he thought and saw this.

That was the first time I saw it like that. For those of you wondering, that's the steel "cords" shining in the late afternoon sun. I left it there and had my wife come pick me up. I considered myself blessed/lucky to catch it when I did, rather than have a blow out at 70. They're putting a new front and rear on there. Lesson learned, I suppose. I've been hemming and hawing at putting a new rear on for a couple of months now. Apparently, once the harder center rubber goes away, the rubber under that is really soft, and rubs off really dang fast.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-13-2013, 10:40 PM

Riding with wires we call that. Never went that bald!

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-13-2013, 10:47 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by neviander View Post
Apparently, once the harder center rubber goes away, the rubber under that is really soft, and rubs off really dang fast.
See the dark rubber next to the cords? That stuff isn't durable against the road like the rubber in the tread. Also once you're down to that, what you have left feels paper thin. If you didn't feel yours after it was removed, next time you're at that shop, poke around the old tire pile and feel another one. Make sure it's a radial--bias ply tires don't feel paper thin when worn to the cords.

post #4 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-13-2013, 10:49 PM

Garage
Plenty left ..... on the sides
post #5 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-13-2013, 11:18 PM

How often do you check your air pressure?
post #6 of 34 (permalink) Old 11-13-2013, 11:43 PM