Rear preload, 6th or 2nd? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-07-2013, 08:18 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Rear preload, 6th or 2nd?

I have a new-to-me 2008 Versys I got second hand. I'm 255lbs and I'm considerably bigger than the man I bought it from.

So I figured I should consider adjusting my preload. The owners manual and the service manual seem a bit vague to me. I'm new to all this as well.

Judging from the indentations, I know it's not in the stock #5 position as per the manual. But I can't convince myself if it's in the #2 or the #6 spot.

Where it's at now feels super soft, I've also been experiencing some loss of traction in slow speed turns (around 10-20 mph) and off the line from a stop, both good dry pavement and off the line . Replaced my tires too and still having the same effect. So I need to do something about it. Feel free to enlighten me!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-07-2013, 08:28 AM

Pretty sure you are in position 5. I have mine set at 7 and I weigh 214. It doesn't feel too stiff

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-07-2013, 08:30 AM

It is definitely not 2 could be 6 but hard to tell from pic

post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-07-2013, 08:46 AM

Looks like position 2 to me. Mine is set on 5 from the factory. Which as I see it, it 5 notches up from the bottom bar.
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-07-2013, 08:54 AM

The lowest position would be 1. As you go higher up, you are compressing that spring resulting in a stiffer ride. If you go too high, it will jump back to the number 1 mark which would be the softest position. But at your weight, my guess it you would sit on the bike and have the shock compress, but not return to the original height of the ride.