How many cyclists? - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-03-2009, 12:52 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
How many cyclists?

How many of you also ride mountain or road bicycles? I've been riding since I was 6 years old and have always owned a bike. Even when I got my first motorcycle in my mid-teens, I continued to ride. Got my first race bike (a primitive Panasonic) in '84, and my first mtn. bike the following year. I still have that one (a Giant Boulder), though I don't ride it much now, having replaced it with a Diamondback that's a lot lighter and that has better gearing. I have two race bikes as well, the original Panasonic that is on a long term loan to a friend, and a newer Diamondback that is my favorite ride. I competed in triathlons for several years, did some mtn. bike racing and still do the occasional century ride. The reason I ask is that I think that the skills that you gain from cycling really help make you more comfortable on a motorcycle. If you get used to sitting on the tiny seats of a race bike for a century ride, it makes it a lot easier to endure the long rides on your Vee too.
I have found that over the past year that I've neglected my regular bike training - it's just so easy to fire up the Kawa and hit the road instead. I've started doing daily rides on my mtn. bike up the mountain by our home again though and hope that this time I'll have the will power to keep it going. At my age, laying off has some really undesirable results...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-03-2009, 01:19 PM