Dealing with wind - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-01-2009, 09:26 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Dealing with wind

Being that the 2008 Kawasaki Versys is my first bike, I have been doing plenty of riding on fair weather days. I know the Versys is rather light for a motorcycle and while I am riding on a highway/interstate, I find that I am easily blown around in my lane by crosswinds. Once I start feeling uncomfortable, I slow down and therefore everything on the highway is now passing me.

I'm not very experienced of a rider, but I was wondering how many Versys riders here handle wind. I know there are people here that travel cross country and deal with lots of highway. My versys is stock, no bags or accessories that can act as a sail. I wear a mesh jacket as opposed to a leather one that I used to wear.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-01-2009, 09:53 PM

I don't think that the V gets blown around any more than any other bike with the exception of c rockets because of the riders posture. I don't get moved by the wind any more now than I did on the FJR. It was 625 curb weight.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-01-2009, 10:13 PM

I'm not very experienced either. It does seem that i have to learn to stay relaxed in the arms and shoulders and...all over. Sort of maybe to relax and let myself learn to respond in a non-tense way...while still feeling free to grip the tank with my knees while standing on the pegs or taking a hand off the bars...
B.

No place like the right time.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

'08 Red Versys, 48k miles.

Last edited by Fiddleman; 06-01-2009 at 10:15 PM.

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-01-2009, 10:17 PM