Kawasaki Versys Forum banner

Versys as a starter bike?

12K views 24 replies 18 participants last post by  Briar Rabbit 
#1 ·
Hello, all.

I apologize in advance, this question has probably been asked several times before on this forum but search did not help and what I could find did not pin point answer for me.
I’m a beginner rider with the only experience being beginner rider class (did very well in it). Have not bought a bike yet but certainly will this summer. I’m interested in sport touring (more touring than sports). However, given that I have zero experience, getting a real ST bike is out of the question - need to start with a small bike. I’m gathering as much info from the net as I can (been slacking at work almost whole week on the internet :)) and I’m getting a lot of opinions towards starting with a 250cc bike. I really do not want a sports bike (I want to ride in an up-right position within legal speed limits), nor anything even remotely resembling a cruiser. Given that, there are not that many choices for a future ST-er! If need be I will get a 250cc bike as a starter (I do realize I need to get skills as safe as possible), but what do you guys think about the Versys as a starter motorcycle? (I’m 6’1”, 180 lbs). Thanks!

#3 · (Edited)
Thanks, Bear.
I'm in Cincinnati, OH.
Well, it is not really the physical size of the bike that concerns me and I do not care much how I would look on a small bike as long as I'm comfortable learning to ride on it. It is the power of a 650cc engine and stuff that I hear can be too much to handle for a newbie.
But, boy, does that Versys look fantastic and overal it sounds like the bike for type of riding I'd like to learn how to do.

#4 ·
Welcome.