introduction and a question! - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 03-30-2009, 11:14 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
introduction and a question!

Hi My name is Chi and I'm a newbie to this site and motorcycling at age 44.

I had pretty much decided that I would be buying a Green 09 Versys and putting the lowering kit on it and already have an approved loan in my hand. all I have to do is go find a bike, make a deal and leave a deposit.

My MSF course is roughly 2 months away in late May and I'm totally excited. Last nite I was discussing my excitement with an older friend who told me he has a motorcycle he is willing to give me. It's an 82 Honda CB750K with a huge fairing, luggage rack and tall back rest and only 3900 miles. I know the bike needs to be either restored or freshened (maybe even visually updated). He had some work done to the bike in 2007 to get it registered and on the road after 10 years of storage, and it's sat since 2007.

should I move ahead and buy a versys or hold off? my loan is only good for 60 days.

thanks in advance,

Chi

Last edited by pickandpray; 03-30-2009 at 11:42 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 03-30-2009, 12:07 PM

Chi.

The Honda is not really in the same class as the Versys. It's totally a street bike, and the technology is old.

On the other hand, the Honda is a desirable bike from the standpoint of collector type value. It would be hard for me to turn down the Honda. I would take it and put it back to original and ride it. I am a junkie for old stuff though.

Since you already have the money for the V, I would go ahead and get it, it will be a more fun bike imo.

As long as the fellow who is going to give you the Honda doesn't care, nothing wrong with having two bikes especially when one of them is an oldie but a goodie.

That's what would work for me. Regards August

Anybody else think these buffalo wings taste a lot like chicken?