Heavy load on rear rack - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-02-2013, 06:02 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Heavy load on rear rack

Anyone carrying heavy load (20-25lbs) on their rear rack? I'm a commercial photographer and looking to carry one of my location bags in a Givi E55 Maxia. With the case itself weighing around 10lbs, I think I'd be at around 25lbs on some trips. Have you run into any issues with similar setup & weight (being that the rack itself is rated at 21 lbs, but also in controlling the bike)?

Thanks!

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-02-2013, 06:17 PM

a general reaction - when I approach weights of cargo on rear carriers that give some concern or question, I make sure I use a tank bag to carry other cargo to move mass forward. I like having a good amount of weight on the front tire.

..got into this habit with a previous bike that had a nice center stand....when the side cases and trunk were fully loaded, the parked bike would tilt back, lifting the front wheel off the ground. I thought it was trying to tell me something. I wonder if some of the Versys machines around might also lean back when fully loaded if they had center stands. No harm done, but it looks strange.

I guess the main idea is that there are ways of manipulating the forward/aft weight distribution on a cargo-carrying bike that can put your mind and bike at ease.

post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-02-2013, 06:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainShaq View Post
Anyone carrying heavy load (20-25lbs) on their rear rack?
I would have no problems going to the store and hauling five 5 pound bags of sugar in the topcase. 25 pounds is not enough to make the front stupid light. My wife is a photographer as well and I have carried her and her gear with no issues (topcase only).