Best GPS - Kawasaki Versys Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 03-28-2009, 11:12 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Post Best GPS

As a contractor I have been bidding jobs at night, on the V, and bring along a print out of a goggle map to find the location, not good in the dark. Soooo, I want to pull the trigger on a GPS. I know a bunch of you have them, and I need one that is beyond simple (my middle name) to use and easy to read and reasonably priced.
Tkx all

If I new what I was doing, I wouldn't still be working
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 03-28-2009, 11:48 AM

Garmin Zumo 450 with Speedy's mount. Hands down the top dog for me. Waterproof, shockproof, and get's me where I need to be without issue. I've had mine for a year now, but I'm fairly certain they've come down in price drastically since my purchase (I paid around $430 from Amazon.)

Jim

A few shots of mine mounted from a few rev levels of farkles ago:

post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 03-28-2009, 11:59 AM

Lowrance XOG

I have a Lowrance XOG that I purchased from Cabelas for $120. The unit is water resistant and is an excellent value. I found one on Amazon for $225. See
http://www.lowrance.com/en/Products/Outdoors/XOG/ For a mount I use a Ram-Mount. Q? Let me know.

Mike

post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 03-28-2009, 12:28 PM
BPF

+1 on the Zumo

I have had a Zumo 550 over a year now and very happy with it.
The 450 would really be fine, ( the 550 has XM, MP3 capability and cost more)
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 03-28-2009, 12:32 PM

We have been using the Zumo 550 for almost two years now. We have had a couple other GPS units, but this is our favorite. We have it hooked into our Autocom system and we can hear the spoken directions through the intercom and also play MP3's. If something happened to it today, I would replace it with another one.
post #6 of 26 (permalink) Old 03-28-2009, 02:07 PM